Saturday, 28 February 2009

Holiday in Turkey

Ma & Pa want us to go to Turkey with them for a holiday in September (I know the place in Turkey and it is really beautiful) - and at a really reasonable rate too .... I've proposed this to the other half and now waiting on his decision - I would LOVE to go, but I guess if he asked me to go on holiday with his parents for a fortnight, I'd have reservations, so I guess I must just act reasonably with whatever decision he makes.

Today has been so beautiful and sunny - almost like spring, yet of course, we're still officially in winter ... but the bulbs are coming up and the lambs are frolicking in the fields - talking of which, I bought a shoulder of lamb for Sunday roast tomorrow - lol - but yum yum!

Anyway, off to watch the rugby now (another one of my passions!) Hopefully England will win!
Adios

Lazy Saturday Morning

Oh it's heaven - Saturday morning (in fact, day) all to myself, as hisnibs is working today - so far I have done absolutely nothing apart from mooch around the house, nibbling here, picking up there - couple of phone conversations - and later on, getting my hair done - Oh Joy! Don't you just hate roots!

I was quite pleased with myself yesterday - a charitable day - I gave to Comic Relief and also a jazz playing busker in the High street, who was incredibly talented - but such a sad face - you could tell he had seen a few smokey jazz clubs in his time ....... also a very good friend, but troubled friend, came over for supper in the evening and spent the time regaling me with his woes - my heart goes out to him, nothing I can do for him except listen - made me appreciate my life and loved ones more!

Did I say that I'm a bit of an F1 freak? Well, getting so excited because as of this weekend, only a month to go until the first GP of the season in Melbourne - which also makes me feel sad as I think about the bush fires over there.

Oooh that left over chilli I ate for breakfast is really lying heavily on my stomach - time to get up and dance with the vacuum cleaner methinks ......

(Oh, and Arctic Ninjas are just silly men dressed as soldiers having snowball fights and chasing polar bears - goodness me though, it's a great read - has had me laughing out loud while snuggled down in bed of an evening - much to buff's amusement!)

How to be an Arctic Ninja

I'll admit up front, this blog has nothing to do with the Arctic, nor indeed, Ninjas - but I have just started Richard Hammond's new book "As You Do" and this is the title of the first chapter, and it just captured my imagination - what could an Arctic Ninja be? My imagination is running a little wild - I see green turtles with black headbands, running around in the snow and building igloos - coupled with that is an image of a big, fat, ginger puss cat (because I had a big, fat ginger puss cat once - called Ninja - ginger/Ninja - geddit!? Oh never mind....... ) So there it is When I've read the chapter (and if I remember) I'll report back as to what Arctic Ninjas really are .....

Till then - the answer to last blog's joke - A STICK - ta da!

The other half saw me logging into this tonight and asked if he could read it - I told a teeny, weeny, little white lie - I said I wasn't blogging about us/him, just events in general - so now he thinks it would be interesting to read - sigh - I guess I'll have to set about writing an alternative blog, just to show him! That'll teach me to lie! I actually found this Blogger thing through my daughter - amazingly she writes all her innermost thoughts and secrets in it - then advertises the address on Facebook! And she wonders how I know what she's up to at University - probably thinks Mum is too dumb to use the internet - ha ha - little does she know!

I've just noticed that the saving feature does not seem to be working; it's going to be very infuriating to get to the end of this and then find I can't save the blimming thing! I'm not the best techno geek in the world (being blonde and female!), but what I think I may do, is just copy and paste this elsewhere - ha ha - no getting past me today!

So, anyway, today being the first day of lent, I'm giving up bread। Someone asked whether that included 'wraps' - I said that would depend on the sell-by date। What I forgot to say to her was that I have a packet of wraps in the cupboard (I checked - it's June, so we're safe). I thought it was funny anyway. She just gave me an odd look. Mind you, I think she thought I was odd for giving something up for lent anyway - youth of today just have no idea about the bible do they? Apparently their lack of bible knowledge is making it much more difficult to teach them the classics at Uni. Can you imagine - turning up for English Literature classes, not having any idea of the content of one of the most famous books on earth - whatever next - starting a degree in quantum physics and not knowing what Pi is? (Actually, I have no idea whether you need a knowledge of Pi to study quantum physics, but it sounds good!)That's it for now - this non-saving facility is really beginning to bug me, so I'll sign off here - this blog may never yet see the light of day!
Ciao
(written on Ash Wednesday but for technological reasons, not posted til today!)

Monday, 23 February 2009

India

What a day to start blogging ... my interest in India has been growing steadily over the past year and I'm now resolved to go there for a visit next year - today (or was it last night?) Slumdog Millionaire won a trillion Oscars - and so it should. I'm so happy and pleased because my friends in Mumbai are so happy and pleased (although privately I wonder at the fact that they are glorying in being, in the main, a city of slums).

I'm actually only writing this because I've just had a 'falling out' with the other half and I want somone to talk to. Actually, I feel a bit silly about it - I'm not saying it was my fault, you know, but I will already admit that at least 50% of the blame is mine. But of course, as usual, we will be silent and distant for a few hours - such a waste of what is, relatively, such short time we have left together (well, if we're lucky we might get another 40 years, but as my past relationships have had an average lifespan of 4 years and 3 months, I doubt I'm going to make the ruby anniversary mark!)

So instead, I'm sitting at the computer tapping away and listening to morose songs, and he's sitting in front of the tv watching programmes he's really not that interested in (he hates Monday night tv!)

Why do we do this? With me it's all about insecurity. I pretend not to, but I do get jealous - because I am always sure he is going to finish the relationship. Which is bizarre, because in the past, it's been me, 99% of the time, that has finished the relationship. There was only one time I was 'dumped' and even then, I think I led him to it. Men always say they will never understand how a woman's mind works; I'm not surprised, I don't even know what's going on in my own mind most of the time. I want, I crave, I positively yearn for a long-lasting loving relationship (my own parents have been married 44 years). Two tries later (and several relationships) I find I am unable to last beyond the afore-mentioned 4 years or so.

Anyway, enough. This is sounding like a right feeling sorry for myself column, when really I'm here to be witty, a comedian, a right barrel of laughs - nobody will want to 'follow me' at this rate! Ha. Maybe a joke or two, erm - what's brown and sticky ...........punchline to follow in my next blog. Bye me hearties - better go and tickle some toes and get us smiling again :)